Recipe Round Up

Here are the recipes I made last week.

Monday: We skipped meatless Monday this week since my mother-in-law was visiting and I made a paleo dish that I’ve been wanting to make for her. It was a Cauliflower “rice” and chicken. It took much longer to bake and was more runny then I would have liked. I think I should have drained the spinach more and squeezed the cauliflower more aggressively.

img_2153

Tuesday: This night was date night for Ian and I. SO NEEDED! Instead of going to a restaurant and eating, we decided to have a picnic outside and go for a hike/walk in the woods. This was a really nice relaxing way to spend a beautiful North Carolina fall evening. I made a chick-pea salad dish that a friend of mine introduced us to. It is a favorite of ours. Lots of veggies and you can’t leave out the pickles!

Here’s the “recipe:”

Raise one can of chickpeas and put in a bowl. Mash with a potato masher. Depending on how chunky you want it, is how much you mash it, I like it to be kinda chunky. Then, add diced red onion, peppers (I like to use a variety of colors) and pickles. In a small bowl, mix together about a 1/2 cup mayo and tablespoon Dijon mustard and a splash of pickle juice. Pour over chickpeas and veggies. Add more mayo if needed. Salt and pepper to taste. Enjoy on rolls, bread, pita or wraps 🙂

img_2117

Wednesday: Every Wednesday night we have our church community group meet at our home. We do a potluck dinner and everyone brings whatever they would like to share. Some nights we have lots of pasta, some times an overabundance of dessert (I never complain about this), but whatever we have to eat, its a good night of fellowship and growing together as a family of Christ. This week I made Chicken and Stuffing Casserole. This recipe calls for canned chicken soup. I don’t know about you, but I just have an aversion to condensed can soup. So I found a recipe for DYI condensed soup. Because I am forgetful, I thought the casserole called for mushroom soup, not chicken. So that’s what I made. Well, it was a hit, even with my little mommy moment of making the wrong soup.

fullsizerender-19

Thursday: We had left over pork and rice from the other week. This time to go with it, I made my take on Cracker Barrel’s Fried Apples. I melted a tablespoon of butter in a cast iron skillet, added 5-6 thinly sliced apples and a teaspoon or two of cinnamon. I let these fry for a about 10 minutes. Then I added about 1/2 cup of apple cider and let it simmer on low until apples are soft and cider is reduced. These are so yummy!

img_2159

Friday: We were suppose to have Bean and Rice. I found this a recipe that looked like an easy crock pot rendition of this basic meal. Well, when dinner time rolled around, the beans were no where near being done. Bummer! So we had leftovers.

Saturday: I let the beans cook for the whole day in my slow cooker, and by the end of the day, they were better. Still not as soft as I would have liked, but better. I am going to need to do some work on this one if I want to do it again.

fullsizerender-21

fullsizerender-22

Seth has been watching me photograph our dinners lately and so he wanted to take a picture of his dinner too 🙂 Nice shot buddy! 

Leave a Reply

