Apple Pulp Bread

Yesterday I wrote about my desire to not be so needed. Any mom out there can tell you how draining motherhood is. I have found that making time for me to do the things I love helps in this season. Something that energizes me and reminds me that I am more than just a mom (not that there is anything wrong or unimportant about this title). Sometimes, though, it’s good to do something that recharges me.

There are a few things that I have on my list of recharging activities. Toward the top of this list (maybe right in spot number one) is cooking/baking. I love to experiment and play in the kitchen. For me its my primary creative outlet and it happens to go well with having a husband who loves to eat 🙂

So last week when I blogged about making applesauce I encouraged you to save the “leftovers,” the peels and such that did not make it through the food mill. Today I introduce you to the reason, and believe me it’s a pretty delicious one.

Meet Applesauce Bread.

fullsizerender-13

However, there’s a little secret to my applesauce bread. It is made with the pulp. I take whatever leftovers remain after making applesauce and store them in a container in the fridge until I have enough to make a batch (or two) of this family favorite bread. Then it’s only a few minutes in my food processor and I have a gloppy mess that is perfect for the applesauce requirement of the bread. And bonus, no wasting any part of the apples when making applesauce.

fullsizerender-14

Don’t worry, if you are not into making applesauce or threw away (gasp!) the pulp from making your’s, you can always use “traditional” applesauce in this recipe.

This is a hearty bread. Made with a 50/50 wheat flour blend and depending on how sweet the applesauce is, does not require much sugar. This last batch of applesauce for me was pretty sweet, so I only added in 1/4 cup sugar for two loaves of bread. We love it toasted and topped with warm apple butter…awww autumn.

Apple Pulp (Applesauce) Bread

1 egg

1 1/2 cups pureed apple pulp (or unsweetened applesauce)

2 Tablespoons cooking oil of choice

2 Tablespoons brown sugar (can be increased if desired)

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 cup whole wheat flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

1/4 cup craisins or raisins

1/4 cup walnut, chopped

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease a loaf pan. Beat egg in a large bowl. Add apple pulp, oil and sugar. Mix well. In another bowl, mix together flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Add to apple mixture and stir until just combined. Fold in craisins and walnuts. Spoon into prepared pan, the batter will be thick, and bake for 55-60 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean. Let rest for 10 minutes in pan and remove to cool on wire rack.

 

fullsizerender-15

Leave a Reply

