Recipe Round-up

What did you have this week?

Meatless Monday: Crock Pot Lentil Soup…Yum! This one was surprisingly delicious and I would definitely make it again. I loved it because although meatless, the lentils add so much protein. This kids liked it and so did Ian. Score!

img_2048

Tuesday: Meatloaf with Mushroom Gravy. When I was younger, I thought meatloaf was disgusting. It was my Mom’s favorite food, but she never got to make it because we refused to eat it. Well, Mom you were right. Meatloaf is so good and this recipe was a winner! I served it with garlic mashed potatoes and sauted kale. I didn’t make the double portion to put in the freezer because I wanted to see if we would like it first, but I definitively will next time. Also instead of bread crumbs I used ground up oatmeal, totally your call on that. I just like oatmeal in my meatloaf.

fullsizerender-11

Wednesday: Corn and Zucchini Chowder. I love soups because you can put so many vegetables in one dish. This chowder is no exception. Bridget loves to eat all the veggies and since they are so soft, its a great way to introduce her to them without too much extra work.  (I don’t have a picture of the final “product,” but here is a look at all the veggies).

Thursday: Slow Cooker Pork and Cabbage. I was a little skeptical of this because it was so simple and not many ingredient so I thought it might be blane. However, it turned out really good. We served it over rice with a side of cooked carrots. It was simple, but in a good way.

fullsizerender-12

Those are my recipes from the week. Friday night ended up being a pizza and movie night, since it was a dark and rainy day with sick kids and Saturday was fish. Nothing to write home about in that one. I need to increase my fish recipes. I want to eat it more, but lack inspiration. Any ideas?

Leave a Reply

