Meals…planning them out

Do you meal plan?

I do. Well, I try to. As in all areas of life, meal planning has to be flexible. On most Sundays though, I sit down and work out a rough plan of what our meals for the week will be. For me this helps in many ways: less stress about what to make at the end of a day, healthier eating because I’ve had a chance to think it through, lower grocery bills since there are fewer trips to the store (in theory). And, honestly, I enjoy it!

But, I know there are some out there who don’t enjoy this process (“hi Mom”). So I thought instead of just sharing a few random recipes each month, I would post simple pictures and links (or recipe if I “invented it” to the meals I made last week, in hopes it may help some pooped meal planner out there 🙂

Here what we had last week:

Meatless Monday: I have been trying to do one meatless meal a week. Here’s what we had this past week. It was good, especially the toasted chickpeas on top! I found the recipe here: Butternut Cauliflower Coconut Curry

fullsizerender-7

Deconstructed Stuffed Peppers: This is one I made up as I went. I love the flavors of stuffed pepper, but they can sometimes be awkward to eat. So I made it in a 9×13 instead, all the flavor, none of the awkwardness! Even my picky eaters liked this one.

1 cup millet (or rice)

2 cups vegetable (or chicken) stock

16 oz sausage (any kind)

1/2 cup water

1 onion, diced

1 cup mushrooms, diced

3 cloves garlic, minced

1 large green pepper, sliced in rings

1 16 oz can diced tomatoes

Cook millet or rice in stock according to package directions. In a medium skillet, brown sausage for about 5 minutes, turning frequently. Add 1/2 cup water and cover and simmer on medium low for about 12 minutes. Remove sausage and let rest. Reserve cooking liquid. In the same skillet, saute onions and mushrooms in a little oil, until soften. Add garlic and cook for an additional minute.

In a greased 9 x 13 pan, layer millet (rice) and top with vegetables. Pour reserved liquid. Slice sausage and layer on top of millet and vegetables. Top with peppers and diced tomato. Cover and cook at 375 for 30 minutes or until heated through and peppers are soft.

fullsizerender-8

White Chili Wednesday: I love white chili! And this recipe is super easy. Put it all in the the morning and enjoy for dinner. This recipe was adapted from Slow Cooker White Chicken Chili 

This recipe did not call for any beans (?????) so I added three cans of white beans. I also just used the peppers I had on had (from a friend’s garden). This one was another one that Seth loved, although the sour cream and chips may have helped 😉

fullsizerender-10

Thursday: So, I am going to be honest here…this meal did not come out as I hoped. I had bought steaks and was excited about them, however they were kinda eh. Major bummer. But I did enjoy the mashed sweet potatoes. They were simply pealed, diced and boiled in salted water (don’t skip that part) with some smashed garlic until soft and them mashed with a little coconut milk. The sauted greens were also yummy. I did these with garlic, coconut oil and a little soy sauce. Lesson learned, leave the steak cooking to my friend Jessy. She’s better at it.

fullsizerender-9

That’s it for meals this week. Friday night was leftovers and we were out of town Saturday, so we enjoyed Brixx Pizza (my all time favorite place to eat!)

I hope this inspires you as you plan your dinner this week. Happy Sunday!

Leave a Reply

