When you need a little chocolate

hello again! I am starting, mind you ever so slowly, to pull my head from the sand. No, I have not been to the beach. I have just felt like I’ve had my head in the sand and not connected with the rest of the world with all the moving and sickness going on.

We are moved and bit by bit settling in and making it “home.” I hope to get back into a routine, for my kids sanity as well as my own!

Yesterday, after I just couldn’t bring myself to unpack one more box, I decided to bake. Our kitchen did not have any appliances in it, so we had to go out and buy new/used ones. The oven was a floor model and never had been used. I thought it would be appropriate to make something chocolate as the first ever thing baked in it.

FullSizeRender (1)

Since my baking supplies and energy were limited, I settled on a simple dark chocolate bread (well, it’s really a cake).  It is very dark and very yummy, especially with warm strawberries on top, which is how we had it last night. To make it perfect, we really needed some whipped cream…maybe we do that next time.

FullSizeRender (2)

This afternoon, while Bridget was not napping, I needed a little pick-me-up and enjoyed some plain with a cup of coffee. Simple and not overly sweet.

I feel like this is the kind of cake you can use as a canvas for endless toppings: fudge, ice cream, fruit, caramel, you get the idea. Happy baking!

Dark Chocolate Bread

½ cup butter, at room temperature

¾ cup sugar

2 large eggs, room temperature

1 tsp vanilla

1 Tbsp instant coffee

¼ cup sour cream

¼ cup milk

1 cup plus 2 Tbsp flour

½ cup dark cocoa powder

½ tsp salt

½ tsp baking soda

 

Preheat oven to 325. Lightly grease a 9×5 loaf pan.

In a mixing bowl, cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in eggs, one at a time. Add vanilla and instant coffee.

In a small bowl, whisk together sour cream and milk.  Sift together dry ingredients.

Alternate adding dry and wet ingredients to the butter mixture, beginning and ending with dry. Do not over mix.

Pour mixture into prepared pan and bake for 55 to 60 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.

Cool and enjoy plain or topping of choice.

FullSizeRender (3)

One thought on “When you need a little chocolate

Leave a Reply

