Home?!?

Sometimes life changes gradually and you never even realize it’s happening. Sometimes change is quick and sweeping. Like, getting married or having a baby. On your wedding day you wake up single. By the end of the day you’re a wife! Same with a baby. This is especially true when it’s your first. You wake up one day and then so quickly (although it may not seem quick, but it the grand scheme of life it’s a pretty short amount of time) your a mother. Forever. You can’t ever not be one again. Even on the days when you just want to hide in the closet.

Hide in a closet. Kind of a specific example, right. Well, that was what I felt like today. I was expressing to my mom over the phone that I wanted to find a quite spot and hide for a time. Seth overheard this and informed me that he would come and hide with me. There goes the idea of quite. His cute and matter-of-fact way of stating this helped to calm me a bit.

Just a bit though. Speaking of life changes, we are in the middle of a big one right now.

While on a road trip a few weeks back, Ian and I started talking about the possibility of staying right here in central North Carolina. This was not something we were really considering much before this. We were looking for some kind of big move or change. But the more we talked the more peace and assurance we felt that this was what God had for us.

IMG_1175

So about 2 weeks ago, I started looking at houses. Just to see what was out there. We spent the past week or so finding houses online and doing drive-by’s. We had found a few that we liked but to our dismay either the area was super sketchy or there was a moving van out front with people moving in, or it was just too far from work or church or just too, well, not us.

On Saturday I found a house online that looked really neat. We drove by. We still liked it. We call our realtor to schedule a showing. We went and saw it on Sunday. We still liked it. We put in an offer. They accepted. Wait…what!?!

We are now in the process of buying a house. There are still many steps to complete and for anyone who’s bought a house, you know, at any point this could all fall through. But we are moving forward and I am excited, overwhelmed, happy and…overwhelmed. I’ve got my calendar out, planning mode in full swing. I will be packing up our entire house again for the third time in less than 2 years.  There are many “to-do’s” to get down.

IMG_1234

But once this is over, we will have a home. Our home. And I am very much looking forward to that!

I may need to find that closet at some point. Just for a bit. And if Seth promises to be quite, I may let him hide with me, just kidding.

I am going to take it one step at a time. I am going to remember Psalm 46: 1-4

God is our refuge and strength,
    a very present help in trouble.
Therefore we will not fear though the earth gives way,
    though the mountains be moved into the heart of the sea,
though its waters roar and foam,
    though the mountains tremble at its swelling.

He’s my “present help” and there are no mountains falling, so if He can handle that, He can handle our move and I will find hope and strength in Him.

IMG_1183

Leave a Reply

