Ginger Sesame Chicken and tips for better Chicken

I don’t know about you, but I am so thankful it’s Friday! Ian has been working late almost everyday this month and having family time over the weekend is something I am really looking forward to.

Last night when he was working late, yet again, I was a bit discouraged and didn’t have much motivation to make dinner. I was tired and the thought of juggling kids and dinner just was not a challenge I thought I was up for.

IMG_1068

But, at the suggestion of my sister, I put Bridget in the Ergo Baby and began to grill our dinner. I am very thankful I did. Sometimes I just need to ignore that voice that says “you can’t” and remember, by taking it one step at a time, I can (well, most of the time, I can).

When Ian got home, we were able to enjoy a family dinner, however late. It was a recipe that I have loved for a long time. I remember my Papa grilling it many times and each time I have it I am reminded how delicious, yet simple it is.

IMG_1077

Grilling chicken breasts can be tricky. No one wants a dry, overcooked, tough piece of meat, but under cooking it might be a worse offense. Through the years, I have come up with a few tips and tricks that have helped reach a happy place of flavorful, moist, grilled chicken.

  • Always pound chicken, this tenderizes it and makes it thinner so that it can cook more evenly.
  • Cut into smaller portions. Chicken breast can be quite large and so I usually pound and then cut into smaller portions (often two pieces per chicken breast)
  • Marinate! Yes, it takes some planning ahead, but oh so worth it.
  • Preheat grill to high heat, then turn to medium high while cooking.
  • Cook for only 8 minutes, 4 minutes a side. If you’ve pounded your chicken, preheated your grill, this is really all the time you need.
  • Cook with the cover down.
  • Enjoy your masterpiece (or at least a not-dried-out dinner)

IMG_1075

These tips work with any marinade, however as I said the one I made last night is a favorite. It’s simple, only calling for 4 ingredients, ones that I often have on hand. I adjusted this recipe to fit my grilling techniques and am very happy with the results. I hope you enjoy it too. Happy grilling!

Ginger Sesame Grilled Chicken

4 chicken breast, pounded thin and cut into serving size

1/2 soy sauce

1/4 cup honey

1 teaspoon ground ginger

2 tablespoon toasted sesame seeds

Mix together soy sauce, honey, ginger and sesame seeds. Place chicken in a resealable bag and pour sauce over and refrigerate for at least 2 hours (the more the better).

Preheat grill to high heat. Before putting chicken on, turn to medium high. Put chicken on grill and grill for 4 minutes on each side with cover down (adjust time to reach correct doneness).

Enjoy!

IMG_1072

 

One thought on “Ginger Sesame Chicken and tips for better Chicken

  1. Good morning Brett’s. Thank you for sharing your special recipe. I like grilling also. I grill with charcoal and grill with direct then indirect heat. Always comes out nice and juicy also!!! Lovely pictures of the family!!!💞😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

