Irish Soda Bread and a Special Woman

Today is the 98th birthday of my “Mumie,” my grandma on my dad’s side. She is one amazing woman! I got to see her last weekend, and although frail and weak, she still has a smile for you as you come into her den, she still adores children and still has a silly side (she played with Seth in a way that just warmed my heart).

017

Mumie, on Sunday, enjoying her great-granddaughter

I have such wonderful memories of going to Mumie’s growing up. We were spoiled by her delicious southern cookin’ and loved the way her house had so many pretty things to look at and try not to touch (so hard to do as a young girl). There was always full candy dishes and trips to Fort Jackson. There was chocolate delight and ice cream roll (my personal favorite) and a Thanksgiving dinner that would leave you full for days (well not really, but after eating it, you may have thought so). She was a host beyond compare, true southern charm and hospitality.

947330_10209213210151862_4574914625591218933_n

My “Mumie” many years ago, a southern belle 

Today in honor of her birthday (and St Patrick’s Day), Seth and I made her Irish Soda Bread recipe.

024

We do early morning projects in our pajamas 🙂

The recipe comes from a book that was compiled a few years back of Mumie and her four other sisters’ recipes. These ladies are known for their cooking and I treasure the book and the legacy of cooking I am continuing today.

033

This bread is so easy to make and should be part of any proud Irish’s menu for the holiday. The only adjustment I made from my grandma’s original recipe is I switched out her shortening for real butter, because in my book, real butter makes everything better! This bread is bursting with raisins and just slightly sweet. If you try it, it’s sure to become a family favorite as it is in mine.

029

Mumie’s Irish Soda Bread

3 cups flour

2/3 cups sugar

1 tablespooon baking powder

1 teaspooon baking soda

1 1/2 cup raisins

2 eggs, beaten

1 3/4 cup buttermilk

2 Tablespoons melted butter

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease a large loaf pan. Sift together dry ingredients in a large bowl, add raisins and mix well to coat raisins with flour mixture. In a separate bowl, mix wet ingredients. Add wet ingredients to dry and stir until moistened, do not over mix. Pour into prepared pan and bake for 50-60 minutes. Remove immediately from pan and allow to cool. Enjoy!

040

037

It was beautiful outside today, so we enjoyed some sunshine!!! 

Leave a Reply

